My start-of-term checklist

As a self-proclaimed productivity nerd, I am a huge fan of the humble checklist. (I’m actually kind of shocked, going through my blog archives, that I haven’t blogged more about my love of checklists.) I set up my to-do lists (physical and virtual) as checklists, and love the act of checking something off once it’s completed. I use checklists to keep track of occasional tasks like packing for trips, camping, and aquabike races. I set up checklists for big projects with a lot of moving pieces, so that the details don’t slip through the cracks.

One thing that falls in the category of “big recurring project with a lot of moving pieces” is preparing a course for the start of a new term. While the details of an individual course vary, the vast majority of tasks are consistent across courses. About 5-6 years ago, I started using checklists regularly for this task, and eventually created a checklist template in Evernote that I use to this day.

Here’s what’s on my start of the term checklist, broken down by category, with some commentary on each category.

Planning

  • Write overall and per-unit learning objectives
  • Make topic map and tie topics to specific learning objectives
  • Draft the final assessment
  • Draft the initial and final course reflection assignments
  • Determine frequency and types of assessments
  • Draft / outline assessments
  • Create daily grid in Google Sheets
  • Block off Midterm Break and travel dates on daily grid
  • Assign topics to days on grid
  • Fill in assessments on grid
  • Write / revise syllabus and course policies
  • Write “In a Nutshell” document (overview of the course and its policies)

I am a big fan of backwards design, which I think you can see from this list: I start at the end and fill in the details from there. I also find it really useful to conceptualize the course in grid form — it helps me to see the full 10 weeks all at once and visualize how one week flows into the next.

Resources

  • Select textbook / readings for course
  • Order textbook / gather readings
  • Set up GitHub organization for course (if needed)
  • Try out / set up software; make sure we have appropriate licenses (if needed)

I don’t always gather all of the non-textbook readings prior to the start of the course, but I’ll at least have figured out that I want them to read this many chapters of this book, an article about a particular topic that the textbook doesn’t cover, etc.

Moodle (course management system)

  • Set up “template” (the structure I use for each week in the course)
  • Add contact info for myself and the course staff, in a prominent place
  • Add office hours to the Moodle calendar
  • Link to daily grid
  • Fill in the topic summary for each week
  • Create placeholders for each assignment
  • Make / revise question bank for quizzes (if applicable)
  • Make page live

The Moodle calendar is truly awful, and I have no idea if students actually refer to it, but my rationale is that it’s helpful for that information to be somewhere that someone is likely to look for it. I also tend to fill in the assignment placeholders with the actual assignment text and rubric as soon as I’m finished drafting them. At the very least, I have everything posted for the next 2 weeks ahead of time, so that students can work ahead if need be.

Communication

  • Set up course Slack workspace
  • Send Slack invitations to class roster
  • Add Slack workspace to desktop app, phone, and iPad
  • Set up folder in my email for the course
  • Set office hours for the term, and communicate them to our admin
  • Set up Calendly for students to sign up for office hours appointments
  • Update personal web page with office hours and teaching schedule
  • Add office hours, class meeting times, advising days, etc. to calendar

I have a whole separate checklist for setting up Slack, mostly so that I don’t forget to add channels and set them so that everyone is subscribed to them automatically.

People

Course staff:

  • Check department spreadsheet to find assigned student(s)
  • Find students’ email and add to Moodle
  • Set up weekly meetings to check in and discuss the course

Waitlist / roster:

  • Follow procedures to let students in off the waitlist (if applicable)
  • Print out photo roster
  • Make flash cards from photo roster
  • See if students have included pronunciations of their names on the roster; listen and spell out phonetically on photo roster printout.

Never have I ever actually made flash cards from my photo roster. I always tell myself I am going to do it, and then fail to do it. Luckily, I can learn names pretty quickly. Will this term be the term where I finally make flash cards?

This term, I don’t have any course staff, so I get to skip those steps.

First day / week

  • Write class plan for first day
  • Revise “Getting to Know You” survey (and post link on Moodle)
  • Make copies of any handouts for first day
  • Check that all readings, assignments, and resources are posted on Moodle for the week.
  • Panic that I’ve forgotten something important
  • Read survey answers as they come in; add notes to photo roster printout.

Fun fact: This term, I teach on the Tuesday/Thursday schedule, so I get an extra day to panic.

Do you use checklists to help you manage your work or your personal life? If so, how do you use them?

3 thoughts on “My start-of-term checklist

  1. Oh, my goodness, THANK YOU for posting this. I am not a computer scientist, but I am desperately trying to familiarize myself with backwards design, because I am not skilled at it. And, I’m currently working on developing 2 courses. So any resources I can find that put the concepts of backwards design in real time (as your post does) are so helpful.

    Question for you – would you be willing to share a screenshot or blank version of your “grid”? I am having difficulty visualizing what, exactly, you are talking about and how it would look in practice.

    Thank you so much for considering my request – and thank you, again, for posting this.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Anne, and good luck with your course design! Apparently I can’t share images in comments (boo!), so I’ll share an annotated screen shot of a grid from a previous course (and maybe compare it with my evolving grid for this course) in this week’s blog post. (And thank you for inadvertently helping me figure out what to write about this week, LOL!)

      Like

Comments are closed.